The Brimacombe Prize

Casting Course
Brimacombe Prize
Lecture Award
Brimacombe Fund

The Brimacombe Prize has been awarded every two years since being first awarded at the Brimacombe Memorial Symposium held in Vancouver, British Columbia, October 1-4, 2000. The Brimacombe Prize recognizes outstanding achievements in materials process engineering and is presented in memory of Dr. J. Keith Brimacombe, an innovative giant in the field of materials process engineering during the later quarter of the 20th century. This Prize consists of both an artistic rendering and an award of $20,000 CDN.

The Permanent Prize

As a permanent record, each Prize recipient is awarded a sculpturesque depiction of a modern-day Atlas representing a portrait of fortitude. The dramatic steps of this artistic piece evidence an ascent to the top. Atlas, as we know from mythology, is a timeless figure symbolizing persistence in a journey. Characteristically, the J. Keith Brimacombe Prize recognizes determination and professional achievement that is forever in style and not easily forgotten. Etched in the base of the award are the qualities that give form to the purpose of the man and the award while recognizing the accomplishments of its recipient.

    1. A creator of new knowledge through research excellence.

    2. A visionary and innovator for a better global society.

    3. A world ambassador integrating science and technology with creative insight.

The J. Keith Brimacombe Prize was designed to do more than merely honor; is intended that this award speak symbolically of the achievements of its recipients while perpetuating the attributes that Dr. Brimacombe set as standards for his own character and career.

Past Winners of the Brimacombe Prize

2000 Roderick I. L. Guthrie, Macdonald Professor of Metallurgy and Director of McGill Metals Processing Centre, McGill University

2002 Richard J. Fruehan, U. S. Steel Professor, Materials Science and Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University

2004 James W. Evans, Professor of Metallurgy, University of California at Berkeley

2006 Diran Apelian, Howmet Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Director of the Metals Processing Institute, Worcester Polytechnic Institute

2008 Gordon A. Irons, US Steel Professor of Ferrous Metallurgy, McMaster University

2010 Seshadri Seetharaman, Professor in Metallurgy, Royal Institute of Sweden (KTH)

2012 Jonathan A. Dantzig, Professor of Mechanical Science and Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

2014 Michel Rappaz, Professor, Materials Institute – Computational Materials Laboratory, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

2016 Robertus Boom, Professor, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

2018 John Grandfield, Consultant, Granfield Technology, Victoria, Australia

2020 Philippe Jarry, Senior Scientist, Constellium Technology Center, Voreppe, France

Selection Criteria

Individuals or a team from academia, industry, or government may be nominated by a person or an institution. There are no age restrictions with respect to the nominee(s) for this prize and the prize is international. Winner(s) are announced in the spring of the year of the award.

The prize will be awarded to an engineer, or a group of engineers, for meritorious achievement which has contributed to education, research and innovation in metallurgical/materials process engineering. Their contributions should demonstrate a high degree of creativity, imagination and engineering/scientific depth, in addition to ambassadorship, leading towards a better global society. Evidence of significant contributions to education, research and innovation with both scientific and industrial impact will be an important measure of eligibility for the award.

The following characteristics, which are well-known of Dr. J. Keith Brimacombe, form an important set of criteria for the prize:

1. Research excellence and the creation of new insight

  •  Examines questions of practical importance and has impact relating them to real processes.

  •  Applies the best scientific methodology and academic rigor to his/her work.

  •  Pioneers, applies and integrates all of the research tools at our disposal to generate new knowledge that contributes to the "big picture."

  •  Teaches students and younger researchers while generating fundamental research results with practical implications.

  •  Disseminates research results to freely share important insights through widely published papers, patents and short courses.

2. World ambassador

  •  A technical communicator who travels to any part of the world to teach university scholars, operators, technology and management groups in industry and universities.

  •  An international leader who associates with and influences other international leaders.

  •  A statesman who respects others, leads by example and sees the potential in the person regardless of origin or status.

  •  A teacher and friend.

3. Innovator and visionary for a better global society

  •  Demonstrates by his/her own work and leadership that science and technology are linked to the betterment of modern society and has significantly demonstrated successes in science and technology based on his/her innovation and shared knowledge.

  •  Goes beyond traditional boundaries in the discipline, whether academic, operational or management in materials processing; articulates and succeeds in technology transfer involving many complex issues: funding, politics, philosophical aspects, decision making and real engineering issues.

  •  Makes distinguished contributions in the knowledge of metallurgical processes, and with vision and determination, communicates this for a better world, sometimes against conventional wisdom.

Recognizes the importance of the role of professional societies on the national and international scene, and integrates technical contributions with leadership and vision to share knowledge and advance technology through professional societies as a vanguard to spreading new knowledge and breaking down walls.

Nomination Procedure

Nominations should include the individual's current curriculum vitae and summary (maximum of four pages) describing the following:

  1. Nominee's achievements and contributions and how they relate to the selection criteria.

  2. Significance or impact of the achievement(s) in the field.

  3. Role of each individual in a team effort.

  4. The nomination should also include names and addresses of five individuals who could provide an assessment of the nominee's/nominees' eligibility for the award. Also include telephone, fax number and e-mail address for the references. Nominations will remain effective for three successive competitions. The selection committee may seek input from references other than those provided.

Deadline for Nominations for 2022 award

December 31, 2021.

The entire nomination package should be submitted (email/postal) to:

Brimacombe Prize Selection Committee
c/o Professor Brian G. Thomas
Dept. of Mechanical Engineering
Colorado School of Mines
Golden, Colorado, 80401



The Brimacombe Prize is supported by the Brimacombe Fund, an endowment held by the Vancouver Foundation.